WC Postcard Project I: Installation 1

“Nightmare” by Elzbieta (Elka) Kazmierczak

Prompt #5. When you or another you know felt/was violated/threatened.

Prompt #3. Powerless.

Prompt #2. A time when you felt stereotyped or discriminated against because of your gender, race, sexuality, age, abilities, appearance, or creed.

“This design relates to issues #2 and #3. We wear varied masks each day in order to relate and cope with our environment. In some groups I am totally transparent to them and have no voice whatsoever. In other groups, I am a valuable colleague or friend. Our minds are always working, but no one really cares!” -Written by the artist.

Prompt #2.

About naeawcvoices

The official blog of the National Art Education Association Women's Caucus Voices Project. Speak up, be heard, redefine.
This entry was posted in Artworks, Feminist Pedagogy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WC Postcard Project I: Installation 1

  1. jorees says:

    Awesome work Caryl!

  2. Caryl says:

    First of all, I love how diverse these images are! I really can relate to the mask image right at this moment. While I am very sure and secure in who I am, others could either care less or underestimate me. One of the ways I use this experience in my teaching is through my expectations of students. I find that I must make conscious efforts not do to my students what others do and have done to me because of my gender, demeanor, etc.

  3. Jennifer Motter says:

    If you seek counseling and psychological services and resources, you may contact: the National Domestic Violence Hotline at 1-800-799-SAFE, the Rape, Abuse, Incest National Network Hotline at 1-800-656-HOPE, and the National Center for Victims of Crime at 1-800-FYI-CALL.

    Reading:
    Hannah, M. T. & Goldstein, B. (Eds). (2010). Domestic violence, abuse, and child custody: Legal strategies and policy issues. Kingston, NJ: Civic Research Institute. http://www.civicresearchinstitute.com/dvac.html

  4. S. Izzo says:

    In teaching a mask project to my upper elementary art students, I always bring the cultural aspect into the design of the mask. You mentioned, “We wear varied masks each day in order to relate and cope with our environment.” I used a similar example in that many cultural organizations didn’t just use masks for decoration, but rather as a way to communicate a feeling or emotion. I tell my students to think of an occasion where masks may be worn. Masks can be made to be worn for decoration , but also for protection, cultural beliefs, prayer, emotional feelings such as happiness or sadness and also disguise.

  5. I agree–such a variety of interpretations and media masks! Today is Madri-Gras and our masks celebrate our differences and our need for the carnivalesque — freedom of free speech and pointing out foolishness in ourselves and society.

Leave a Response

